City Hall 618-346-5200

Citizen Police Academy


Non-Emergency 618-344-2131
Emergency dial 911

Citizen Police Academy

Beginning on Wednesday, September 27th, 2017, the Collinsville Police Department will be hosting its 14th Citizens Police Academy. The program, which will be taught by officers from the Collinsville Police Department along with guest speakers from other agencies, is designed to give Collinsville residents a realistic view of police work by providing instruction on different aspects of Law Enforcement.  

   

Academy classes will be held on Wednesday evenings from 6:30 pm – 9:00 pm, starting Wednesday, September 27th, 2017 running through Wednesday, November 15th, 2017 at the Collinsville Police Department training room and will be open to the first 25 qualified applicants. Participants will be introduced to the structure of the agency as well as basic information that all police officers must know to perform their jobs, including such topics as patrol tactics, general investigations, defensive tactics and use of force.

Enrollment is free. Priority will be given to citizens 18 years of age or older who live or work in the Collinsville area. *Note: Due to the nature of the course and curriculum, individuals with prior felony charges or convictions will be declined.

Applications are due NO later than Monday, September 11th, 2017.   Interested persons are encouraged to complete an application on-line(below) or come to the Collinsville Police Department and pick up an application.  If you have any questions regarding the Citizens Academy class, please contact Officer Paul Kilquist or Officer Mark Kuechle at (618) 344-2131.  Inquires can be emailed to either pkilquist@collinsvilleil.org, or mkuechle@collinsvilleil.org.


          

 

 Participation Permit Application/Promise To Release

In consideration of the benefits that I will receive from my participation in the Collinsville Police Department Citizens Police Academy, I do hereby release the City of Collinsville, its police officers, public officials, agents and employees from any liability, claims, demands, actions and causes of actions which I may hereafter have on account of any and all injuries or damages to me or to my property, or my death, arising out of or related to any happening or occurrence while I am participating in the academy class. For the same consideration, I also agree to forever hold the city of Collinsville and said persons harmless from any and all such liabilities, claims, demands, actions or causes of actions. The terms thereof shall be in full force and effect during the period of my participation in the Collinsville Police Department Police Citizens Academy.

You will be contacted about the status of your application via email. 

 
* Required












Yes
No

Latest Blogs

    Contact us:

    City Hall:

    City of Collinsville

    125 S. Center Street
    Collinsville,IL 62234

    Tel: 618-346-5200

    Service Desk Hours: 8:30am - 5:00 pm

    Contact City Council:

    Mayor John Miller  - jmiller@collinsvilleil.org - 618-346-5200 x1162 

    Councilman Cheryl Brombolich  - cherylbrombolich@collinsvilleil.org - 618-346-5200 x1169

    Councilman Jeff Stehman  - jstehman@collinsvilleil.org - 618-346-5200 x1135

    Councilman David Jerome  - djerome@collinsvilleil.org - 618-346-5200 x1164

    Councilman Donna Green  - dgreen@collinsvilleil.org - 618-346-5200 x1161


     

    * Required